About Me

I am a senior broadcast journalism major at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. I will graduate from UNC-CH in May 2011 and I am pursuing a career in reporting in broadcast journalism.

I am a multifaceted journalist who can shoot video, edit and write my own material and I love to tell stories. I am skilled in using Final Cut Pro editing system and Microsoft Word Office – Word, Excel, Powerpoint & Publisher. I also know how to use social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and blogging (specifically tumblr.com, blogspot.com, wordpress.com).

I report, shoot footage and edit material for Carolina Week, UNC’s award winning student run television station, and Carolina Style, a fashion inspired show on Student Television, which is aired on UNC’s campus. I also have experience in magazine and print work. I am the Editor-in-Chief of the Black Ink Magazine, which is the official bi-semester publication of the Black Student Movement. The magazine is published in print and online (see www.uncblackink.wordpress.com).

I am a proud member of the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) and student member and Social Media Chairperson for the Carolina Association of Black Journalists (CABJ) at UNC.

And in my spare time, I enjoy spending time with my friends, listening to music, tweeting about my life and creating a new look – especially in local thrift stores. I am also a PROUD Tar Heel and I love cheering my Tar Heels in every sport but basketball is definitely my favorite.

In the future, I aspire to be a correspondent for a nation network like CNN, ABC or NBC. But in the mean time, I am ready to get my journalism career started in a local market as a reporter.

One thought on “About Me

  1. Great new site,we are so proud of you…maybe start thinking outside of the box,like what would get you notice…an outline about life on campus,or doing interview’s through the eyes of a young woman looking into the hearts of older-wiser woman.Like Malya Angelo,etc…It would be great for your master’s progam,also maybe getting a show on Oprah..Maybe a show call “Girl-Talk” for the younger woman….Uncle Ted

Leave a Reply

