Saying see you later…not goodbye

When I graduated from high school, I wasn’t very emotional. I was a little upset that I would be going to a different college than most of my close friends but for the most part we all went to in-state schools, we still knew that we would be home for the holidays or for homecoming and we knew that we would see each often. And we did. After our first year in college, we all took summer trips together, visited each others’ schools and it was like we never left each other. We were just a little further away.

Well, when I graduated from college, it was a different story. Not only I was VERY emotional and  a bucket of tears every time someone got sentimental about UNC or college but I realized that my friends won’t always be so close. No longer would we be down the road or down the hall (in the case of the dorms) from each other but we would be miles and states away.

Who would have thought this would be so hard to comprehend? I mean, I consider myself to be a strong person who doesn’t get too emotional and definitely doesn’t cry in public! But these past few ‘goodbyes’ have been very hard and I think it’s because I kept thinking it was truly goodbye. And it’s not. The corny saying you always hear about it’s ‘not goodbye, but see you later’….. well it’s true. I know that I’ll see my friends soon. Now it may not be right away or next week but I’ll see them for homecoming or for a birthday or even just a lunch because they were in my town for the day – no matter how or when I know that it’ll happen in the future.

As I depart for D.C. this weekend, I tell myself this is not a goodbye or farewell to UNC or my friends and family, it’s just a ‘see ya later’….’see you soon’….and that’s it, nothing more, nothing less!

So Chapel Hill, it’s see you soon!

Until next time,

KG

Leave a Reply

