Today I became a journalist! Well, a more professional one!

Today started out like any other normal day for me here in D.C.

I woke up, showered, changed my outfit several times, got ready, gobbled down some breakfast, headed for the metro, battled epic amounts of people and traffic, made it to Chinatown metro stop, visited my faithful Starbucks, and headed to work with my Iced Vanilla Latte in hand.

At first my duties were the usual, the show was set but the one thing that what was different was my specific role with today’s particular show. Not only did I get a chance to practice some writing but it was used on air!

I helped write the intro for our segment about the latest updates with the Arizona fires. We also have a section each week called “Letters” and I wrote this as well! Now, it’s only a few pieces but it’s still a great start and it’s only week two! Week two?! That’s it! I can’t imagine what I’ll get to do in the coming weeks if this is happening already and it’s only week two!

Needless to say, I was pretty happy for most of the day! Insert happy dance here! 🙂

Until next time,

KG

And if you would like to have a listen – check out the following links

Arizona fires [I helped write the introduction section to this segment]

http://www.npr.org/2011/06/14/137176794/firefighters-struggle-to-contain-arizonas-largest-fire 

Letters [I wrote this section!]

http://www.npr.org/2011/06/14/137177733/letters-safe-sex-and-the-floundering-housing-market

One thought on “Today I became a journalist! Well, a more professional one!

Leave a Reply

