Traveling to the eastern side of D.C….well kind of…

Today, I decided to venture out into the heat and weekend masses of D.C. tourists to visit Eastern Market — a collection of vendors and a flee market with fresh goods and unique items. And it was pretty cool.

Of course, I got lost…only because I missed the big sign that said “Eastern Market –>” and I walked in the opposite direction. But despite my horrible sense of direction, I finally turned around and found the flee market and I was sold! It was nice to see vendors with handcrafted goods and unique items. However, I wasn’t a fan of the vendors that had CLEARLY gone to a thrift store (where they found vintage items for Goodwill prices) and then they were selling them there for like $30 – $40. But thankfully my years of thrifting and Goodwill training helped me resist any temptation to buy from them.

But I did go a little overboard with the jewelry. Everywhere I turned there was another vendor or stand with jewelry and you guys know how I feel about bracelets, earrings, rings and all things of the sort. Needless to say, I have a few new additions to my jewelry collection.

Another thing that blew me away was the amount of fresh food for sell at the market. It was like walking through an outside mix of Trader Joe’s and Food Lion and I loved it. And not to mention, the free samples were a major plus for the day. Everything from peaches to tomatoes to chip dip — yeah, they had it all at the market place.

And last but not least, all the vendors that sold the various but much needed odds and ends were scattered throughout the market too. I have never seen so many wood stands with unique and well cut wood pieces, vendors with posters, oil paintings and photos and vendors with just random antique items and home decor. I had to control myself from looking at some of these vendors with cool and unique home decor and posters because I still don’t have an apartment so I don’t have my own space to decorate and coordinate. BUT when I do settle down and figure out my life in the near future which will obviously include an apartment, I will probably go back to the market to find some cool items for my place! 🙂

Anywho, after the day was all said and done, I left the Eastern Market with a few new items, a weird foot tan from my scandals and bad hat hair but it was still a really good experience and I will most likely go back in the near future!

Until next time,

KG

Leave a Reply

