Dr. King, international leader in person

Today, the MLK Memorial was opened for the public and I decided to venture down to the National Mall to see if for myself. Of course, I didn’t know I would be walking almost a MILE from the Smithsonian metro stop to the memorial but it was well worth the journey.

Just beyond the steps of the Lincoln Memorial and past the Vietnam War Memorial lies the newest addition to Washington’s must-see monuments and another piece of history.

The official dedication is this Sunday and I’m planning on attending since I’m in D.C. and it’s a history occasion! How could I miss it when I’m already here? But in the meantime, enjoy these pictures!

Until next time,

KG

He stands 30 feet tall in his new home on the corner of Independence and West Basin SW. The newest monument in Washington.

Famous MLK quotes line the walls of his memorial.

This is one of my favorite quotes from Dr. King

I played around with a little photoshopping via Instagram and this is what I came up with. You like?


Leave a Reply

