Everything is BIG in Texas

Some of you may be wondering….where have I been? I haven’t been blogging lately.

Well…it’s because I decided to come to Houston, Texas to visit my college roomie, Lisle, for the Labor Day weekend. And I’m so glad I did.

As much as I enjoy the city, I needed a break and I needed to get out of town for a little bit. This weekend was basically my first vacation all summer and it was great!

I got to meet new people, see new things and experience a different part of Texas. And I was given a HUGE surprise — one of my other fellow UNC grads, Stanley, was here too! But I tell ya, the way they surprised me was so perfect. Basically, a few days before I came Stanley asked me when I was coming to TX and I told him and asked if I would see him, since he’s from San Antonio and only a few hours away. Well, he said he wasn’t able to come but he would call when I was with Lisle so he could talk to the both of us. So of course, I was a little sad because I haven’t seen Stanley since early June either but I understood that he might not be able to come to town. Well, when Lisle came to pick me up from the airport, we were both clearly excited to see each other and we began filling in the details of our lives. Not even 5 minutes after I had been picked up, Stanley calls me. I answer my phone but I don’t hear a response, seconds later, I hear Stanley say “Hello” from the back seat and there he is! Not did I scream for joy, but I dropped my phone and freaked out because two of my besties from UNC were with me for an entire weekend in Houston!

We visited a few people today in Little Mexico and this is their local Walmart. Yes, I was really intrigued by the fact that the sign and the entire store was in Spanish.

I told ya’ll I was really excited about this all Spanish Walmart! Like where else do you find this thing!

As you can see, the weekend started with a bang and it didn’t stop from there. Each day, I saw a different part of Houston, met just of few of the hundreds of corps members with TFA (Teach For America) and just had fun! Everything from happy hours, karakoe, good food, thrifting, tons of laughs, cookouts, even an African Wedding, it was just all fun…pure, plain, unplanned fun — which was much needed considering I’ve been working 40 hour weeks all summer. Needless to say, I have some more great memories to add to my collection.

A true Southern breakfast from “Breakfast Klub” which is a local Houston favorite and yes, it’s club with a k. But the meal was amazing — can we say wings and grits, please!! Yummy!

This vacation also reminded me how much I missed my college friends!! It was so refreshing to hang out the people I call some of my best friends from college and to hang out with them in their new city! I loved seeing Houston from the eyes of a fellow grad and friend who just moved here and now calls the city their home. It made the trip so much more personal!

So never fear, I have not disappeared! There’s still plenty of blogging that needs to be done but at least you know why I took a short hiatus…..I just needed a break!

But in the morning, it’s back to the east coast, back to DC and back to the grind of work and job searching.

Until next time,

KG

Leave a Reply

