Another bittersweet ending…

Well, yesterday was my last day with Talk of the Nation for a while and it was bittersweet but on a very hopeful/encouraging note.

I had a show that day about Prostate Cancer, which even though the disease is a serious issue, the show was a really good dialogue about the conversation the men may or may not be getting from their surgeon before treatment. It was different an issue that I learned more about and I think the show gave our listeners (both men and women) some news you could use. Because the disease doesn’t just affect men, if affects the women in the relationship too.

After our afternoon meeting, everyone wished me the best of luck and said that they had a feeling that I would be back soon. I have to say I agree with them. I have a really good feeling about this city (as you all know from many, many blog posts) but it’s really true. And we’ll see. Only time will tell.

But I must say that after five weeks of temping, I learned a WHOLE lot. In the past few weeks, I’ve become an expert in football (both college and professional), figured out the patent system, called overseas to find reporters talking about the Greece crisis, talking with military men about the repeal of DADT, breaking down the facts behind the prescription drug deaths and even, finding a reporter who watches executions (including Troy Davis’)…yeah, I’ve done a lot in the past five weeks. But it was all a good experience…there were times when I was really prepared for a show and other times when I felt like I was crashing til showtime but it all made me a better journalist.

I’m still waiting to see what happens next but in the meantime, I’m going to enjoy a few days off and just consider this my vacation!

So take a few minutes…well several minutes…and listen to my last show with Talk of the Nation about Prostate Cancer.

Until next time,

KG

Leave a Reply

