We make 218 years look GOOD!

Today is a great day! Why you ask? Because on this day back in 1793, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill finished its foundation as the first public university in the country! And to celebrate this lovely occasion, UNC always has its annual “University Day” events and the school always cancels classes from 10am to 1pm. (not a bad way to celebrate your school’s birthday right?)

As an undergrad, we all looked forward to University Day because yes we got to brag about how old and amazing our school was over the next but it was a nice little break from classes…well, if you had class between that time frame. I always managed to miss at least one or two classes but I would always have one class before 10am and/or after 1pm. But regardless of having class or not, it was nice to have a celebration, which usually involved free stuff (i.e. food — which is golden for the broke college student lifestyle) and reflection of how our university came to be.

You can’t tell me I’m not a proud alum of my university…the oldest public university at that!

But as a graduate, I find it very interesting that October 12th is still a very important day but it’s not the same as being in Chapel Hill. Of course, I’m letting the world know it’s my university’s birthday via social media and any casual interactions I may have with people. (And you better believe, I have my “UNC Alumni” shirt on!) But it’s still not the same as being the Tar Heel state on a sunny Carolina blue today.

Ah, well, at least that’s what homecoming is for. And the countdown begins…homecoming weekend is only a few weeks away and I can’t wait to see Franklin Street, walk by the Old Well, listen to the Bell Tower chime, and see all my fellow Tar Heels — alum and undergrad! Yes, University Day is really placed on the perfect day in October because it reminds you how awesome you and your school are  but it also reminds you that you’ll be coming back to visit very soon.

On that note, I’ll think about Sweet Carolina with my Alumni T-shirt on and snuggled up in my Tar Heels blanket on this not so Carolina Blue cloudy day in Maryland.

To all my fellow Carolina alums out there, you already know the deal…. I’m a Tar Heel born, I’m a Tar Heel bred, And when I die, I’m a Tar Heel dead, So Rah Rah Carolina, Rah Rah Carolina, Go to…well you can finish the rest 🙂

Until next time,

KG

Leave a Reply

