So what do you do? I’m fun-employed, thank you!

As many of you have detected, I’m living my life in lala land as I figure out what’s going to happen next.

I’ve applied for a bunch of jobs in D.C. and just about any news station that’s looking for a general assignment reporter. (And when I say anywhere…I mean anywhere…from Chattanooga, TN to Green Bay, WI…I applied.)

But while I’m applying for jobs, tweaking cover letters, working out and blogging (of course), I’ve found it very difficult to utter the word “unemployed.” I mean, by definition, I am in the category of not working but that word just seems so depressing. I mean to tell you the truth, the phrase extended vacation works too but then you have to do too much explaining about how your vacation is more than just a few days.

So I thought to myself, there has to be a better way to refer to my current working (or non-working) status in life. This is where I give you…”fun-employed.” Yes, it does include that dreaded word of UN-employed but at least there’s some happiness to it. And just think, when you hear the word “fun-employed” it makes you smile and think, well at least this kid is thinking positive about her situation. (Plus one of my friends said it during our NPR internship and the phrase stuck with me!)

And I am…I’m thinking positive about my situation.

I know that the economy sucks (let’s face it, there’s really not a better word to describe it) and the journalism industry is what it is. You send a million applications and pray that two people call you back…and I was warned about this…so I know it’s how we roll in the business.

Now, am I anxiously waiting to hear back from various locations….of course, I am! Who wouldn’t?! But while I patiently wait and continue to apply, I’m trying to keep myself occupied and even have a little fun. I mean, you can’t live this close to DC and not visit it (for fun)! Plus there’s but so many things you can do and places you can go in White Plains, MD.

So, “Fun-employed” that’s what I’ve chosen as my title…of course, like many of my fellow fun-employed, we’d all like to claim the title of employed very soon. But as my family and friends have reminded me, life and opportunity don’t come on my time but God’s time. And I know he has a great plan for me…as he does for all of us, it’s just hard having to wait for it to happen. Then again, we really shouldn’t mind the wait because the best things are always worth waiting for.

On that note, I hope you all continue to strive for success…no matter what your situation is!

Until next time,

KG

2 thoughts on “So what do you do? I’m fun-employed, thank you!

  1. Pingback: Employment! | Kirstin Garriss

  2. Pingback: How to survive ‘fun-employment’ | Kirstin Garriss

Leave a comment