Despite it all…we still stand tall

In my 23 years of living, I’ve seen and heard a lot.

My generation has seen, heard and lived through a lot.

On April 20, 1999, Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold, two high school students took matters into their own hands and shot  and murdered their classmates and teachers at Columbine High School.

13 dead. 23 wounded. Thousands, millions…stunned, stocked, and in awe that anyone could commit such senseless violence.

But despite how terrible and horrifying this situation was, we still rose to see another day. My generation decided to get back up again.

Then… September 11, 2001.  I remember being in my 7th grade science class when it happened but I still really didn’t know what had really happened. I didn’t appreciate the magnitude of the event until I got home and saw it for myself on the TV.

But despite that tragic event, we still brushed ourselves off and stood back up.

And then, a few weeks ago…it happened again. July 20, 2012… the Colorado movie massacre. James Holmes shot more than 50 people, killing 12 during a midnight showing of The Dark Knight Rises…an event that any of us would go to.

It’s something I’ve done several times and never thought twice about…and that’s what made it hit home yet again. It reminded me that life is precious.

But yet again, even after an event that’s still fresh on our minds, our hearts and our souls…we’re still rising one more time. We’re still getting back up and standing tall.

Of course, they’re been more acts of violence than just these three instances and unfortunately, there may be more in my lifetime but each time, I know that we will rise and stand tall.

Because it’s not what happened that defines you, it’s how you get back up that does.

Until next time,

KG

Leave a Reply

