There’s more to life than brunch and happy hour…

When you’re 23 and live in a very social city, it can be frustrating when you’re left out from all the fun.

But that’s life.

You work hard, you play hard, and you bust your butt to get to where you want to be….and that’s what I’m trying to do. But I’m not gonna lie, it’s hard to be this young, social butterfly on the path to greatness…hours are long, work comes first, and your ambitions and dreams are the guide.

Now this is not to say I don’t try to have a life or have fun but I definitely have to work at it and sometimes you have to take the me, myself and I approach to life. Too many times plans fall through and people let you down, but you control what you do next and you have the power to cancel or keep a date.

So that’s what I do. I’m a “me, myself and I” kind a gal at times because there’s more to life than brunch and happy hours.

Yes, I get to indulge in those social events from time to time but my grind to be better today than I was yesterday usually comes first. But it’s amazing how many people don’t see beyond that.

There’s more to life than brunch and happy hour.

There’s more to life than mimosas and french toast.

There’s more to life than cheap wings and cheaper beer.

There’s more to life than margaritas, cocktails and stiff drinks. There’s more.

There’s museums, flee markets, parks, gatherings, diners and film festivals and shoot, a number of random things to do in a city like this yet everything you see revolves around those two concepts…brunch and happy hour.

And yes, it may be petty to dedicate a whole blog post to my jealousy of people who work M – F, 9 – 5 hours but it’s still amazing how many people don’t want to branch out.

Life is too short to waste it all on brunches and happy hour specials. It’s also too short to waste it on waiting for others.

I’ve grown a lot since moving here and I’ve learned to do a lot of things on my own but sometimes being independent all the time is tough. Me, myself and I are a great trio but when Me starts talking to Myself and I answer…that’s when you know there’s a problem.

But on those random occasions when I do have an afternoon or even a weekend, I do engage in brunch and happy hour. Why? Because there are just some things you can’t really do alone…and those are two of them.

Until next time,

KG

Leave a Reply

