Thankful

It’s that time of the year again where we all come together to eat, drink and be merry and to remember what we’re thankful for… Thanksgiving.

Each year, I find myself very thankful for so many things but this year, my list just keeps going.

Last year this time, I had just gotten my job with NBC and I literally locked in housing a couple of days before I started so I was thankful for that but I had no idea what I’d learn and the experiences I’d have while working in DC.

Needless to say, this past year has not only flown by but it has taught me so much and I’ve become a better journalist. And for that, I’m very grateful.

Of course, I’m thankful and blessed to have the support of my family and close friends throughout this past year and in years past. I’ve quickly learned that journalism is a tough business and it’s nice to know I have people who are rooting for me.

I’m also thankful to be off today. Yes, off! We’re celebrating the holiday in Maryland but at least I can be with my family in my newest home and celebrate this holiday. Plus it’s nice to know that I’ll be like everyone else around the country today, off and taking a break from things to enough the things I’m thankful for.

And, before you dig into that turkey with all the fixings, just remember to be thankful. There are still families out there who are recovering from the damages of Hurricane Sandy and other weather related events and they may not have the holiday they were planned. So keep that in mind today because I know I will!

To you and yours, have a Happy Thanksgiving.

Until next time,

KG

Leave a Reply

