And the rest is still unwritten

There’s a song that kind of explains how my life is right now.

It’s Natasha Bedingfield’s song Unwritten…. and it goes a little something like this.

Staring at the blank page before you
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not find

Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your inhibitions
Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten

The lyrics are simple and chorus is catchy, but there’s some truth it.

At this very moment in my life, I’m researching and applying for my next opportunity, my next big move, my next chapter and it’s very much unwritten. And right now, I think I know how I want this book to end but how to get to that last chapter is still a blur.

It’s like I have several drafts and directions I could go in… it’s just which one do I pick to send in to the publisher and make it a reality. Which version takes me down the path that I want to go, or that I need to go? Which way is really right when there are so many that could be the right way?

And with all this happening in my brain, my biggest question is how do you stay calm? I’m not going to lie, I get anxious sometimes when I think about the next step, where I’ll go, who’ll met, where it will take me. But then anxiety transforms into excitement because it means I’ll be moving on and moving forward with my life.

Now I may sound like I’m just babbling on about this but it’s hard to describe the feeling you have when you’re waiting for the next big thing and when all you know is that the rest is still unwritten.

Until next time,

KG

Leave a Reply

