have you danced today?

It’s a question I’m starting to ask myself everyday – have I danced today?

I’m not talking about warming up and stretching or breaking out your pointe or tap shoes.

I’m talking about that solo dance party you have while you’re getting ready for your day or as you fix your favorite meal of the day. I’m talking about that pure 5 minutes of nonstop dancing like no one’s watching and you don’t care. I’m talking about that shake your head, move your arms and hips and play with your hair with your eyes closed kind of dancing.

If you know what I’m talking about then you done all these things before. And after you have your daily dance break, don’t you feel better. Feel happy.

Well, that’s exactly why I’m doing it. It’s a quick boost of happiness and it’s a great way to start your day, continue the afternoon or end your evening.

And there’s one song that’s been on repeat lately in my head, on my laptop, on my phone, just everywhere. Happy by Pharrell Williams. The song was produced from the movie, Despicable Me 2, but it’s really a song that truly works for anyone.

Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

The lyrics are so simple and so true. And as soon as the song starts you can’t help but start to tap your feet, then move your hips and smile without even thinking about it. And then to top it off everyone in the music video is dancing. It’s people of all ages, races, ethnic groups, genders, everyone just dancing because they’re happy.

So I’ll ask you again, have you danced today?

Until next time,

KG

Need more songs to jam to? Here’s a few to help you get your groove on! 

Leave a comment